RED KROKODIL – Soundtrack Review



I have popped this on Filmic Tracks as it is mentioned in my pervious review for Dark Waves by the same composer. And besides Red Krokodil deserves to be listened to if you have not previously.

Alexander Cimini
Konos Records
Krokodil is a morphine based drug. It’s also called the flesh-eating drug as it literally eats flesh away exposing bone. In order to review Germam composer Michael Cimini’s score I watched some disturbing videos on You Tube of Krokodil addicts, I will say it was not easy watching.

This 80 minute video, directed by Domiziano Cristopharo is the story of a Krokodil addict in a post nuclear city. It’s the journey of not just the physical deterioration but also the breakdown of the mind and hallucinatory journeys it brings.

C-Age is chilling with it’s taut strings and a distant drum pounding like a time keeper in the background. It wreaks of desperation and fear. If a cue can have colour this is truly black. In complete contrast the following track, the Main Theme, is beautiful with a cello led track of overwhelming sadness. Towards the end of the track a piano, perhaps signifying hope, soars towards a dramatic end.
Alone has a fragility about it which intensifies with a violin which rips your heart out. Strings dominate My Wounded Body, and whilst the title is telling, the arrangement has great beauty.

My Mind, short and tense to start with, is like a ghost track. As if the body has gone already but the mind is hanging on. This detached feeling continues in Reflection In The Water which reaches a peak of outstanding symphonic elegance.
Prologue brings the return of the cello and a choir and it creates a sense of profound loss. Half way through it goes deep into the horror of a distorted mind, you can almost hear a remote voice reaching out to identify who it is.
The Window I played 4 times in a row, it’s full of hope and again I can only write the word beautiful.

If you watch the trailer to Red Krokodil or take a look at the films’ poster, I am sure subconsciously you will imagine it’s a horror score. Accepting the few cues which have a sense of horror [not necessarily horror music] this score has sublime beauty and it affected me deeply. I was a little out of depth trying to get a handle on this short film but I am delighted that I persevered. In short, it is astonishing!

1. C_age
2. Red Krokodil Main Theme
3. Alone
4. My Wounded Body
5. My Little Green Crocodile
6. Endless Roads
7. My Mind
8. Reflection In The Water
9. Prologue
10. W(t)omb
11. Capuccetto6  –  Music by G. Verdinelli
12. The Window
13. Passion And Love?


DARK WAVES – Soundtrack Review


Dark Waves is a 2015 film which, as far as I can see, has only been released in the US this year. Pity as it sounds intriguing. It’s a fantasy-horror directed by Italian director Domiziano Cristopharo.
An ex French legionary, Sophiane takes his wife to their new home, a tower on the open sea. As idyllic as it may sound the couple experience strange events which makes them face a past life which they wish to forget. When sailing Sophiane finds three, small gold nuggets. He gives them to his wife. Bizarrely they are actually gold teeth that belong to three pirates who later rise from the water to get them back.

The score is by German born Alexander Cimini who in 2015 won the Jerry Goldsmith Award for best music score for the documentary Red Krokodil, and the Jerry Goldsmith Award for Best Composer in the same year. I remember being deeply effected by this documetary soundtrack and in my review of it I wrote it ‘has sublime beauty’. So I was delighted when Alexander sent me a signed copy to review.

A deep, dark single piano note unlocks this story, the horn brings in the melody and the soprano voice of Monica Boschetti guides us to the short but passionate Bellerofonte Main theme.
My attention is grabbed AND sustained into the 2nd track The Town, with it’s strings gently weaving between piano and bass, it’s comforting and rolls effortlessly.
The Tower has a warning to it which deepens in Wine Like Blood but still retains a romantic feel. Instantly you sense that this is a meticulously structured score. Boschetti”s voice blends in so seamlessly with the orchestra.

Hidden Mysteries is the first sign that not all is as peaceful and idyllic as the other cues have suggested. With skittish flutes and rippling piano, it’s change in tone is subtle, more ‘off kilter’ than full throttle distortion.
This is such an ‘elegant’ composition confirmed in the beautifully melodic and [John] Barryesque Follow Me. Memories Lost in the Sea [End Credits] masterfully encapsulates all previous elements of the score and adds heartbreak and loss.

It’s not surprising to read that Cimini says it was Ennio Morricone who influenced him when younger. The ghost like soprano and powerful piano are testimony of this .
Dark Waves is exquisite, it’s strength being that it never veers from the theme of great passion even though the couple suffer great horrors.

Alexander Cimini

01. Bellerofonte Main Theme (2:05)
02. The Town (1:56)
03. The Arrival (2:05)
04. The Tower (3:25)
05. Wine Like Blood (1:10)
06. Love Scene (2:33)
07. Hidden Mysteries (3:31)
08. The Fog (3:17)
09. Fragments of Memories (5:09)
10. Dressing (1:29)
11. Follow Me (film version) (3:11)
12. The Secrets Revealed (5:01)
13. Farewell (1:26)
14. Memories Lost in the Sea (End Credits) (3:40)
15. Follow me (Soundtrack Version) (8:26)
16. Bellerofonte Concert Suite (8:55)
17. Love Song (Opening Title Theme) (bonus track) composed by Marco Werba (1:52)

Kronos Label