DARK WAVES – Soundtrack Review


Dark Waves is a 2015 film which, as far as I can see, has only been released in the US this year. Pity as it sounds intriguing. It’s a fantasy-horror directed by Italian director Domiziano Cristopharo.
An ex French legionary, Sophiane takes his wife to their new home, a tower on the open sea. As idyllic as it may sound the couple experience strange events which makes them face a past life which they wish to forget. When sailing Sophiane finds three, small gold nuggets. He gives them to his wife. Bizarrely they are actually gold teeth that belong to three pirates who later rise from the water to get them back.

The score is by German born Alexander Cimini who in 2015 won the Jerry Goldsmith Award for best music score for the documentary Red Krokodil, and the Jerry Goldsmith Award for Best Composer in the same year. I remember being deeply effected by this documetary soundtrack and in my review of it I wrote it ‘has sublime beauty’. So I was delighted when Alexander sent me a signed copy to review.

A deep, dark single piano note unlocks this story, the horn brings in the melody and the soprano voice of Monica Boschetti guides us to the short but passionate Bellerofonte Main theme.
My attention is grabbed AND sustained into the 2nd track The Town, with it’s strings gently weaving between piano and bass, it’s comforting and rolls effortlessly.
The Tower has a warning to it which deepens in Wine Like Blood but still retains a romantic feel. Instantly you sense that this is a meticulously structured score. Boschetti”s voice blends in so seamlessly with the orchestra.

Hidden Mysteries is the first sign that not all is as peaceful and idyllic as the other cues have suggested. With skittish flutes and rippling piano, it’s change in tone is subtle, more ‘off kilter’ than full throttle distortion.
This is such an ‘elegant’ composition confirmed in the beautifully melodic and [John] Barryesque Follow Me. Memories Lost in the Sea [End Credits] masterfully encapsulates all previous elements of the score and adds heartbreak and loss.

It’s not surprising to read that Cimini says it was Ennio Morricone who influenced him when younger. The ghost like soprano and powerful piano are testimony of this .
Dark Waves is exquisite, it’s strength being that it never veers from the theme of great passion even though the couple suffer great horrors.

Alexander Cimini

01. Bellerofonte Main Theme (2:05)
02. The Town (1:56)
03. The Arrival (2:05)
04. The Tower (3:25)
05. Wine Like Blood (1:10)
06. Love Scene (2:33)
07. Hidden Mysteries (3:31)
08. The Fog (3:17)
09. Fragments of Memories (5:09)
10. Dressing (1:29)
11. Follow Me (film version) (3:11)
12. The Secrets Revealed (5:01)
13. Farewell (1:26)
14. Memories Lost in the Sea (End Credits) (3:40)
15. Follow me (Soundtrack Version) (8:26)
16. Bellerofonte Concert Suite (8:55)
17. Love Song (Opening Title Theme) (bonus track) composed by Marco Werba (1:52)

Kronos Label