Doesn’t it sound so tantalising …. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Sounds so 2016 but in fact Seth Grahame Smith’s novel of the same name [and with one of the best book covers ever] was published in 2009. Natalie Portman was originally cast as Elizabeth Bennet and also as a producer but schedules conflicted and whilst she still is one of the producers the female lead went to Downton Abbey’s rising star Lily James. It’s a parody of the 1813 Jane Austen novel and it does makes you wonder if it’s going to spawn a whole host of classic book zombie versions – could be fun!

Spanish composer and acclaimed cello player Fernando Velázquez who composed the much underrated 2015 score Crimson Peak, has delivered a terrific score full of dark strings with an undercurrent of gothic with some traditional tracks thrown in. The opening track Darcy has such a strong Hammer horror sound to it with it’s deliciously twisting notes and trembling violins. The Regency age is fully explored in Dressing For The Dance, a breezy track which is all too short.

The traditional tracks,  The Man from Uribe and  Dance of the Ponderous Distaff fit well with the whole musical presentation of the score. In fact parts of the soundtrack sound like a classical period score. Flirt Lovers Fight is a playful, comedic cue and tragedy can be felt in the beautifully orchestrated The Letter/Siege of London. There is also romance in the soaring strings of Happy Ending?

What a relief that this score was so carefully thought about and offers musical highlights keeping in company of the period it’s set rather than an all out horror, action score. Nicely done Mr Velázquez!

1. Darcy (4:00)
2. An Illustrated History Of England 1700-1800 (2:20)
3. Dressing For The Dance (0:36)
4. The Man From Uribe (2:11)
5. Dance Of The Ponderous Distaff (1:29)
6. We Are Under Attack!! (2:27)
7. Carriage Ride (1:05)
8. Orphans (1:47)
9. The Soldiers Of Meryton (1:10)
10. Menuet Des Mortes Vivants (1:35)
11. Orphan Attack (3:34)
12. Don’t Go Into The Woods Alone (1:29)
13. St Lazarus (2:43)
14. Rosings Park (1:15)
15. Midnight Walk (1:08)
16. Flirt Lovers Fight (2:45)
17. The Letter / Siege Of London (4:09)
18. The In-Between (5:36)
19. Darcy Is Saved (1:59)
20. Back To St Lazarus (2:13)
21. Zombies Are Fed / Attack / Showdown (5:13)
22. After The Explosion (2:40)
23. Happy Ending? (4:42)

Label: Varese Sarabande